Mommy in London

Trying to figure things out!

Ways for the Family to Take Part in the Olympics without Tickets

on August 2, 2012

I probably should have written this post before it all started, but I had no idea just how obsessed I would become with the Olympics!  So, some of these have passed, but hopefully some of you can make it to the upcoming events and be a part of the Olympics celebrations.  We also had no idea how easy it would be to take our 9 month old baby to the Olympics, but he coped so well we now wish that we could go again!

I think that a lot of people were very upset not to get tickets to the events (I know that we were after the first round of sales when we got nothing, but luckily we eventually did get tickets to the swimming).  But there are plenty of other things to do around the city to get into the Olympic spirit!

  • Torch Relay
    • we loved the torch relay, it went by way too quick, but there was such a great atmosphere, I wish they did one on the way out too!

Sports

  • Men’s and Women’s Cycling Road Races
    • we went to watch both and had so much fun, again it was a great atmosphere of people waving their flags and cheering, not just for British cyclists but for everyone who passed, a great thing to be a part of
  • Men’s and Women’s Cycling Time Trials
    • we missed this (we were too tired from going to the Olympic Park the day before) but we heard it was fantastic, especially to see Bradley Wiggins win gold!
  • Women’s and Men’s Triathlon
  • Men’s and Women’s Marathon
  • Men’s 20km and 50km and Women’s Race Walk
  • Men’s and Women’s Swimming Marathon

Big Screens

  • BT London Live
    • I would really like to go and watch some of the events on a big screen in a park, a much more social way to watch the games than at home, but still being able to watch a variety of events, what’s not to love?  And there’s a Cadbury’s area, yum!

Arts

Other

  • International Olympic Houses
    • I had no idea that all of the houses put this on, we may just have to pop into Canada House to see what it’s all about 🙂
  • Find the Olympic Mascots around London
    • We are definitely going to do this!!!  I want to find all of the mascots and take photos of E with them 🙂  I know a lot of people don’t really get the mascots, but I’ve learned to love Wenlock and Mandeville ❤

I’m sure that there are many other events that I’m missing, please let me know so that I can add them to my list!

And if you’re still desperate for tickets, keep checking the London 2012 ticketing website as they’re putting up more every night, maybe you’ll get lucky!

Hope you’re all enjoying the Olympics as much as we are!!!

Leave a Reply

