Mommy in London

Trying to figure things out!

Night Weaning

on August 6, 2012

Now that E is 10 months old, I’ve been thinking a bit about when we stop breastfeeding.  I decided a long time ago that we would stop when he is a year old, but suddenly that doesn’t seem very far away!  And obviously I can’t just stop cold turkey, the poor boy wouldn’t know what was going on, so it seemed the right time to cut back on feeds.

E was having 6 milk feeds a day (before breakfast, before lunch, before dinner, before bed, dreamfeed and night feed) which to some seems like quite a few for his age, so I’m not worried that he isn’t getting enough milk.  I think that his night feed was more about habit and comfort than actual hunger anymore.

So last Thursday, we began the process of night weaning.  Thursday night and Friday night were not pleasant.  E woke up quite a few times crying and my husband soothed him back to sleep (having to use all sorts of methods, but I think walking up and down the stairs worked in the end).  But then suddenly on Saturday night, he just slept through the night!  I was in shock but so happily amazed by it all.  He woke up happily at about 6:30am, played in his cot for a bit and then cried to be picked up.  I have never felt so refreshed!  Then last night he woke up twice for his soother, but only for a minute each time and straight back to sleep.

I know this may not be the end of night wakings for us, but it’s just so nice to know that he can do it.  Now the next step will be to drop the dreamfeed, that one will probably be a lot harder for me!

Here’s a link to an article on KellyMom about Night Weaning that got me started http://kellymom.com/parenting/nighttime/weaning-night/

Leave a Reply

